I saw Wonder Woman last weekend and enjoyed it. Still, it left me….. wondering. In no particular order:

I wonder why I was so bothered by the lack of female staff listed in the credits. 

  • Did I assume one director’s credit would solve Hollywood’s misogyny? (Was there anything to the number of men who got the other production roles?)

I wonder why I was even looking for those names.

  • Does it make Patty Jenkins’ achievement any less significant because the entire crew wasn’t chock full of women? (Was I waiting to note this?)

I wonder how fair it is to be threatened by parts of Gal Gadot’s person when those very sentiments exist in some of my friends, and even family. 

  • This struggle is real, to be honest. A few times in the movie I found myself being distracted by what I know of the parts of Gadot the person that I find so disagreeable. Still, previous point holds. It’s a conflict that exists with regards to many others (to whom I’m far closer, and of whom I express far less criticism) as well. 

I wonder whether the romantic elements of WW were necessary. 

  • I actually enjoyed the subtle challenge I felt at seeing a bad ass female lead who wasn’t bad ass because she was anti-man. 

I wonder if the few CGI issues I noticed indicate a pre-made critique with which I entered the movie. 

  • There wasn’t anything Airforce One about it all, but SOME of the intro scenes were a little choppy/cheesy. I hate this when I spot this in any film, but was I going to be critical from the start?

I wonder how much of the struggle was just getting this movie to be made or whether there was additional push back during the making of a tentpole production that was helmed by and focused upon a woman. 

  • This is an honest one. I do wonder. For all I know, and it’s more than nothing, there’s much I do not. Was this production notable for how normal the process became? Was it filled with more drama behind the screen than upon it? I’d love to know. 

I wonder why I was worried BEFORE the film about it getting Oscar buzz. 

  • First, I haven’t heard any, but what was the defensiveness I seemed to exhibit in this anticipation? What if WW was Oscar worthy? Wouldn’t that be awesome? The existence of this movie is significant. It will be remembered for a multitude of reasons. So why then the pre-existing resistance? Further, if an African American man can get the Nobel Peace Prize simply for being elected, than maybe we should give an Oscar to the woman who earned the right to front a tentpole like WW. 

I wonder why I felt (a lot of) anxiety with regards to blogging about this movie. 

  • What does it say that I was worried to speak up at all? Again, while the release of this film is an important event, as a film, it is open to critique. The choices of its casting team, ditto. I comment on A LOT. And I know a few things about feminism too. Why then the concern? NOTE: I’m grateful for the discussion I had with a wise friend BEFORE seeing the movie. I think, as he argued, that before seeing the film would have been an inappropriate time to post, akin to reacting to a headline. But now that I’ve seen a film whose birth was about equal chances, I think fair criticism is…. fair. 

I wonder how many will see that the true revolutionary feminism in WW was in its philosophy.

  • This was, gloriously, a feminist film. And it was feminist for far more than its female director and star. The philosophy of WW is one worth knowing. Its ideas on peace were right out of Betty Reardon, a scholar for whom I have the deepest respect. I hope people read HER more, not just the WW graphic novels. 
