So there’s nobility in inflation… I’m not so sure I agree.

Or perhaps that which dissuades me is the statement that precedes it. Are elegies truly aimless? Do they truly lack moral?

Even if one takes moral to mean an ending of some kind, I think you could argue that death offers a ‘that’s why’ of sorts.

This statement goes far beyond the glib – That’s why you don’t play in traffic, etc etc etc.

No, the moral of a life’s story is of great value… especially to those who failed to pass on first.

Live more. Hate less. Do save. Don’t discard. Do pursue. Don’t ignore.

In what way is reflecting on another’s passing aimless? It is the value of this endeavor that makes others sad.

Further, there are more than a few reasons to weep.

I wish I’d had one more moment. I’m honored to have shared the ones I did.

These are both valid and valued reflections which often are brought to being by the very elegy which some, apparently, find so worthless.

Now as to the ode. (Trust me, I know I’m on a slippery slope).

True, this very blog is based upon my desire to place a single work of art in every breath of my day-to-day life. True, I have, and will again, waxed about the poetic greatness of the very author with whom I’m here disagreeing.

However, while some odes are great, is the greatness in an ode its ability to elevate XYZ? I’d say no.

Odes are, beyond the occasionally breathtaking wordplay, as subjective as any other artistic output.

Elevate my hero, and I weep. Elevate my enemy and I groan. (Nowhere is this more common than in our social media world)

My joy is less in your elevation than in my love of your chosen subject.

How then is this always the nobler of vehicles?

